Overview of Law Education In India


The history of law education in India is as old as Indian civilization. Based on the existing notion of tradition and culture, along with religious beliefs, our ancient Kings devised the concept of ‘Dharma’. Ethics and philosophy formed the base of this unofficial law enforcement, which was treated with respect and was adhered to all over the country.

During the Mughal era, the legal system in India worked more or less based on the teaching of Quran and Islamic studies. Some Mughal Kings such as Akbar always had a representative from other religions such as Hinduism so that no unfair judgment is passed.

The real action began after Mughal departed and British took over the country, when an organized, documented system of legal proceedings emerged in India. Earlier on, Indian lawyers and practitioners were debarred from entering the Supreme Court, but after the introduction of historic Legal Practitioners Act of 1846, Indians, along with Indian beliefs, customs and religious point of view were also taken into consideration.


After Independence in 1947, curriculum of legal education formulated in India, with three years of law degree. Law Degrees in India are granted under the Advocates Act of 1961 which was passed in the Parliament and stipulated some concrete regulations of moral ethics and professional etiquettes while offering law services.

Current Law Education

Right now, admission to LLB and LLM in officially accredited law colleges is based on the performance of Common Law Admission Test or CLAT. Some of the top law colleges in India such as National Law College in Delhi have their own common entrance tests.

Bar Council of India is the autonomous body which regulates law education in the country, and advices changes when required. They also check and monitor the colleges which are offering this degree.


The following are the degrees which can be earned after doing law courses in India:

Bachelor of Laws (LLB)

Integrated Undergraduate Degrees (B.A. LL.B., B.Sc. LL.B., BBA. LLB., B.Com. LL.B; which are normally 5 years duration)

Master of Laws (LLM)

Master of Business Law (MBL)

Doctor of Philosophy (PH.D)

In case you want to know more about the best law colleges in India, you can visit CollegeDunia, which is regarded as one of the top educational search engines in India.

Image sources: Minglebox ; IndiaLawyers(wordpress site); LawCollegesInIndia (wordpress site)